David Gilmour announces first album in 9 years, ‘Luck and Strange’

David Gilmour has announced Luck and Strange, his first solo album in nine years, which will be out September 6 via Sony Music. He made it with producer Charlie Andrew, who is best known for working with alt-J. “We invited Charlie to the house, so he came and listened to some demos, and said things like, ‘Well, why does there have to be a guitar solo there?’ and ‘Do they all fade out? Can’t some of them just end?,” Gilmour says. “He has a wonderful lack of knowledge or respect for this past of mine. He’s very direct and not in any way overawed, and I love that.”

The album features contributions from Guy Pratt and Tom Herbert on bass, Adam Betts, Steve Gadd and Steve DiStanislao on drums, and Rob Gentry and Roger Eno on keyboards, with string and choral arrangements by Will Gardner. Polly Samson, Gilmour’s co-writer for the past 30 years, contributed most of the lyrics. The title track, which is a bonus on the CD edition, features late Pink Floyd keyboard player Richard Wright, recorded in 2007 during a ‘Barn Jam’ at David’s house.

Luck and Strange includes eight new originals plus a cover of “Between Two Points” by late-’90s/early-’00s group The Montgolfier Brothers. The first single from the album is “The Piper’s Call” which will be out Friday, April 26.

While you wait, check out the cover art (photo by Anton Corbijn) and tracklist below.

[embedded content]

Luck and Strange
1. Black Cat
2. Luck and Strange
3. The Piper’s Call
4. A Single Spark
5. Vita Brevis
6. Between Two Points – with Romany Gilmour
7. Dark and Velvet Nights
8. Sings
9. Scattered

Bonus tracks:
10. Yes, I Have Ghosts
11. Luck and Strange (Original Barn Jam)