Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds Set New Studio LP ‘Wild God’

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds will unleash Wild God later this year, the alternative rock outfit’s 18th studio album.

Led by the title track, Wild God is the followup to Ghosteen, the critically-lauded two-disc longplay from 2019, which explored Cave’s exposure to grief and pain, following the sudden death of his son Arthur in 2015. 


See latest videos, charts and news

See latest videos, charts and news

That record went on to crack the top 10 on national charts in Australia (at No. 2) and the U.K. (No. 4) and impacted the Billboard 200 (at No. 108), and was shortlisted for several major music awards, including the Australian Music Prize and the U.K.’s Ivor Novello Awards.

Wild God will drop Aug. 30 through Cave’s own label Bad Seed, via a new, exclusive worldwide licensing agreement with Play It Again Sam, an imprint of the independent [PIAS] label group.

“The new album is incredible,” enthuses Kenny Gates, co-founder and CEO of [PIAS], “in my opinion his best ever, and we will go over the barricades to deliver the global success it deserves.”

Trending on Billboard

Led by the ARIA Hall of Fame-inducted Cave, the current Bad Seeds lineup consists of Thomas Wydler, Martyn Casey, Jim Sclavunos, George Vjestica and longtime collaborator Warren Ellis, who produces the album with Cave.

[embedded content]

Mixed by David Fridmann, Cave began work on the album on New Year’s Day 2023, news of which he shared on his blog The Red Hand Files. “My plan for this year is to make a new record with the Bad Seeds,” he wrote at the time. “This is both good news and bad news. Good news because who doesn’t want a new Bad Seeds record? Bad news because I’ve got to write the bloody thing.”

Spanning 10 track, the forthcoming LP was cut at Miraval Studios in Provence, France and Soundtree Studios in London, England, and features contributions from Radiohead’s Colin Greenwood (bass) and Luis Almau (nylon string guitar, acoustic guitar).

Greenwood will accompany the multihyphenate Cave on a solo tour of Australia, set to kick off April 25 with the first of a three-night stand at the MCEC Plenary Melbourne. Cave is expected to perform songs from his extensive catalog on the trek, presented by Billions.

“I hope the album has the effect on listeners that it’s had on me,” Cave says of the new recording. “It bursts out of the speaker, and I get swept up with it. It’s a complicated record, but it’s also deeply and joyously infectious. There is never a master plan when we make a record. The records rather reflect back the emotional state of the writers and musicians who played them. Listening to this, I don’t know, it seems we’re happy.”

Wild God track listing:
1. Song of the Lake
2. Wild God
3. Frogs
4. Joy
5. Final Rescue Attempt
6. Conversion
7. Cinnamon Horses
8. Long Dark Night
9. O Wow O Wow (How Wonderful She Is)
10. As the Waters Cover the Sea