MOVE – “Imperialist Reign” & “Summer Trend” (Feat. Kayla Philips & River Elliott)

Two years ago, the Boston hardcore band MOVE, a group dedicated to representing the Black experience in hardcore, impressed us with their out-of-control, expressly political Freedom Dreams EP. Today they’ve announced their debut full-length, Black Radical Love, and shared two songs. Both “Imperialist Reign” and “Summer Trend,” a collab with Bleed The Pigs’ Kayla Philips and Ballista’s River Elliot, present a ferociously heavy, metallic spin on hardcore that reminds me of bands like Code Orange and but isn’t quite so obviously indebted to nu-metal.

Black Radical Love also features Aaron Heard of Jesus Piece, Christine Cadette of Zulu, and Gjared Robinson AKA Balaram Shakti Das of Out Of Body. In a press release, vocalist Corey Charpentier shared this statement:

The songs are meant as a call to act, I want people to listen to these tracks and then move to better their conditions, I want people to move at our shows.

The record deals with our current position living underneath the US Imperialist state specifically a Black experience. The need for revolutionary change and the fact people are actively building a better future right now. It’s a tale of two records, Side A expresses our current frustrations and anger. Side B focuses on where we are going and the joy the journey brings us as we move towards a tomorrow where all people have their needs met to live their best lives.

The aesthetics are a continuation of Freedom Dreams as these songs are additional entries in a music-based political journal that have continued to evolve along with my own political education. With riffs and visuals that make you stop and take a second to appreciate the art.

“Summer Trend,” per Charpentier, “is self-explanatory.” He continues, “It’s a call out of the treatment of Black lives as a trend during the summer of 2020 not only in the mainstream culture but in the subculture of hardcore.” Hear both songs below.

01 “Double Death (Feat. Aaron Heard)
02 “Imperialist Reign”
03 “Statement: Lee Lee”
04 “Trojan Horse”
05 “Summer Trend” (Feat. Kayla Philips & River Elliott)
06 “Ode To The Pit” (Feat. Gjared Robinson AKA Balaram Shakti Das)
07 “Statement: Deja”
08 “For All Not One” (Feat. Christine Cadette)
09 “Comrade”
10 “1,000,000 Experiments”
11 “Ascent”
12 “Black Radical Love”

Black Radical Love is out 8/11 on Triple B.