William Basinski announces new album, Lamentations, made with archival material going back 40 years

William Basinski‘s next album is out via Temporary Residence Limited on November 13th.

Lamentations is made from sounds collected from the American producer’s personal archives, stretching over 40 years back to 1979.

The new album comes amidst an especially busy year for Basinski. Other archival dives include March’s Hymns Of Oblivion—a previously unreleased song cycle from 1991—and the collaborative Something From The Pink House with Richard Chartier, recorded in 2004.

Just last month, Basinski also released the debut album from his new group Sparkle Division, a collaboration with Preston Wendel. You can check that out here. And his last album for his usual home of Temporary Residence Limited was the black hole-inspired Time Out Of Time, released in March 2019.

Listen to “O, My Daughter, O, My Sorrow.”

01. For Whom The Bell Tolls

02. The Wheel Of Fortune

03. Paradise Lost

04. Tear Vial

05. O, My Daughter, O, My Sorrow

06. Passio

07. Punch And Judy

08. Silent Spring

09. Transfiguration

10. All These Too, I, I Love

11. Please, This Shit Has Got To Stop

12. Fin

Temporary Residence Limited will release Lamentations on November 13th, 2020.