Space Afrika, bookworms feature on new Freedom To Spend charity compilation, New Neighborhoods

Freedom To Spend has announced a new compilation, New Neighborhoods.

The album is out on October 2nd and is an homage to Ernest Hood’s 1975 album, Neighborhoods, which the label reissued last year. Inspired by that record, which employed nostalgic field recordings of American suburbia, the musicians commissioned were asked to incorporate field recordings from their immediate surroundings into their work.

Comprising 16 tracks, the LP will feature the likes of Space Afrika, bookworms, Ka Baird and Sugai Ken.

Proceeds from the album will be donated to the Center for Community Leadership (CCL) program at the Association for Neighborhood and Housing Development (ANHD), a New York coalition advocating for housing equity and justice city-wide.

Watch the trailer for the compilation.

01. Todd Barton – Ashland Ambience
02. Felicia Atkinson – The Willow

03. Ka Baird – West End

04. CV & JAB – Saint-Gilles Lockdown In Three Parts

05. Lieven Martens – Five Elements, Five Repetitions

06. Space Afrika – 217

07. Nailah Hunter – Hidden Tiger Lily

08. Jefre-Cantu Ledesma – Dharani For Morningside Park

09. bookworms – fluctuations In temperature

10. Melanie Velarde – NYC Files

11. Roberto Carlos Lange – A Worm In An Apple

12. Barraco Barner – Untitled (compressed)

13. Dylan Moon – Wales

14. J D Emmanuel – Shenandoah, Texas

15. Sugai Ken – Symphonic “Joya No Kane”

16. Like A Villain – What’s Happening To Me

Freedom To Spend will release New Neighborhoods on October 2nd, 2020.