Rapsody announces new album ‘Please Don’t Cry,’ shares “Stand Tall”

North Carolina rapper Rapsody has announced a new album, Please Don’t Cry, due May 17 via We Each Other/Jamla/Roc Nation (pre-order). The 22-song album features Erykah Badu, Lil Wayne, Baby Tate, Alex Isley, Phylicia Rashad, Keznamdi, and more, and it includes recent single “Asteroids” (ft. Hit-Boy), as well as the just-released “Stand Tall.”

“‘Stand Tall’ is the first song I recorded when I started working on this album in 2020,” Rapsody says. “I would say it represents my desire to speak to my humanness in the most free way. It started me on the journey, and it required me to be fearless, which is why I titled it ‘Stand Tall’ – be firm in who you are, legs straight, shoulder back, chest out.”

The two-minute song comes with a five-minute video/short film featuring Rapsody in conversation with friend and actress Sanaa Lathan. “Sanaa was one of my guides and supporters on that journey,” Rapsody continues. “She offered so much insight, support, and tools to usher me through; as well as inspiring me with her own vulnerability. I’m grateful to have a friend in her and why I wanted to have this conversation with her first. She’s one of the biggest reasons I was even able to finish the album.”

Check out the song and video below.

[embedded content]

[embedded content]

She’s Expecting You ft. Phylicia Rashad
Look What You’ve Done
DND (It’s Not Personal) ft. Bee-B
Black Popstar ft. DIXSON
Stand Tall
That One Time
3:AM ft. Erykah Badu
Loose Rocks ft. Alex Isley
Diary of a Mad Bitch ft. Bibi Bourelly
Never Enough ft. Keznamdi
He Shot Me
God’s Light
Back In My Bag
Niko’s Interlude ft. Niko Brim
Raw ft. Lil Wayne
Lonely Women
A Ballad for Homegirls ft. Baby Tate
Please Don’t Cry Interlude ft. Phylicia Rashad
Forget Me Not ft. Amber Navran & Phylicia Rashad