New Soul Jazz compilation, Black Riot, collects early rave, hardcore and jungle

Soul Jazz Records is releasing a compilation called Black Riot: Early Jungle, Rave And Hardcore later this month.

The 12-track compilation, which was originally scheduled for March 6th, will now be available digitally, on vinyl and on CD from May 22nd. It collects seminal cuts from the period in the early to mid-’90s when UK producers, influenced by the darker strains of rave and hardcore, created a new sound called jungle. There’s music by Leviticus, DJ Dubplate, The Terrorist and more.

The first editions of the CD and vinyl versions will come with a limited edition graphic novel called Black Riot: The Mysterons Save Planet Earth From The Xatheroid Angels, a collaboration between Soul Jazz and writer Paulo Parisi.

Listen to clips via Sounds Of The Universe.

01. Rhythm For Reasons – The Smokers Rhythm
02. Babylon Timewarp – Durban Poison

03. The Terrorist – RK1
04. DJ Dubplate – Tings A Go On

05. Leviticus – Burial (Lovers Rock Mix)

06. The Freaky – Time and Age

07. Trip One – Snowball (Remix)

08. DJ Krome & Mr. Time – Ganja Man

09. New Vision – Way Of Life
10. DJ Dubplate – Original Rubadubstyle
11. Hi Fi Power – Chill Out (Raggafunks U)
12. Nu Jacks feat. Ivory Ranks – House Sensation

Soul Jazz Records will release Black Riot: Early Jungle, Rave And Hardcore on May 22nd, 2020.