Matthew Dear reveals new techno alias, Brain, with double-EP on Planet E

Matthew Dear has unveiled a new alias, Brain, which will debut with a double-EP called The World on Planet E.

It’s the latest in a long line of trackier Matthew Dear aliases, including False, Jabberjaw and Audion, whose 2006 classic “Mouth To Mouth” came in at number 20 on our Top 100 Tracks Of The ’00s feature. The lead-off cut on the inaugural Brain release, “Boss,” was first heard on Carl Craig’s Detroit Love Vol. 2 compilation.

The World will be released digitally during lockdown period on May 15th, with a double 12-inch featuring additional tracks to be released in September of 2020.

Listen to Brain’s “Boss.”


01. Boss

02. Corrections

03. Rafe

04. Snake Head


A1 Boss

A2 Corrections

B1 Rafe

B2 Snake Head

C1 Tantricity Pt.I

D1 Tantricity Pt.II

Planet E will release The World on May 15th, with the vinyl to follow in September 2020.