Gavilán Rayna Russom announces Black Meteoric Star triple LP, Disco

Gavilán Rayna Russom will release a new Black Meteoric Star album, Disco, on her own Voluminous Arts label.

The full-length, which follows albums for DFA and Traxx’s Nation label, was recorded without multi-tracking or overdubbing on single live takes. Despite the title, the 12-track LP looks beyond the named genre to lay out “practice-based research into the ghosts we connect with on the dance floor,” Russom says in the press release.

“Whether it be through partying in former industrial buildings, contested spaces of labor built on lands violently appropriated from indigenous people, uncomfortably inhabiting vacuums in queerness left by the AIDS epidemic, lifting lineages through sampling, or the relentless cycle of whitening that accompanies dance music’s march into the market,” Russom writes, “our experiences in the Disco have been permeated by the spectral and the haunted.”

Disco will come as a triple LP on three different colours of vinyl. It’s the second release on Voluminous Arts, following Secret Passage, a Gavilán Rayna Russom solo LP released in late March.

A1 Manifesto

A2 Muscle Machine

A3 Disorienting Shapes

B1 Fluid Feline Forms

C1 Apparitions On A Dance Floor

C2 Whispers Between Worlds

D1 Pelts Laid Out

D2 Quincox

D3 A Charm Against The Evil That Men Do

E1 I’m Unmelting

F1 Purr Attraxxxxion

F2 Freaks Only

Voluminous Arts will release Disco in late May.