Bing & Ruth's new album, Species, inspired by the desert and long-distance running

Bing & Ruth will release a new album this July on 4AD.

David Moore took inspiration for Species from long-distance running and the desert after his short-term move out of New York to Point Dume, on the California coast.

“I’d found myself in places unfamiliar enough that I could easily lose all sense of direction, size and, more than anything, all sense of time,” he says. “The music I was making became a kind of reflection of these intentional detachments—and a place to mirror that feeling of trance that had pushed them out in the first place.”

While Moore leads the Bing & Ruth project with a rotating ensemble, founding members Jeremy Vine (clarinet) and Jeff Ratner (double bass) returned to play on the new album, out July 17th.

The last Bing & Ruth album, 2017’s No Home Of The Mind, was also released on 4AD. RVNG Intl. handled the project’s previous two LPs, 2014’s breakout Tomorrow Was The Golden Age and the 2015 reissue of City Lake.

Watch the video for new single, “I Had No Dream.”

01. Body

02. Badwater Psalm

03. I Had No Dream

04. Blood Harmony

05. Live Forever

06. The Pressure Of This Water

07. Nearer

4AD will release Species on July 17th, 2020.

Photo credit: Tonje Thilesen