Nelly Furtado Set to Host 2024 Juno Awards

UPDATE (Feb. 29): The 2024 Juno Awards on Sunday, March 24, will include tribute performances to three Canadian music greats who died in 2023 – Gordon Lightfoot, Robbie Robertson and Karl Treblay, the latter best known as the lead singer and co-founder of Les Cowboys Fringants. Artists set to pay tribute to these greats are Allison Russell and Aysanabee and Alexandra Stréliski, respectively.


See latest videos, charts and news

See latest videos, charts and news

Jeremy Dutcher and Elisapie will also take the stage, joining previously announced performers Nelly Furtado (who is also hosting the show), Maestro Fresh Wes (who is this year’s Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee), The Beaches, Charlotte Cardin, Josh Ross, Karan Aujla and TALK.

Trending on Billboard

PREVIOUSLY (Nov. 7): Canadian pop star Nelly Furtado is set to host the 2024 Juno Awards, which are slated for Sunday, March 24, from the Scotiabank Centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia. This will be Furtado’s second time as Juno Awards host. She also fronted the 2007 show in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, at which she won five awards.

Tickets to the 2024 Juno Awards broadcast go on sale Friday, Nov. 10.

Furtado, 44, amassed 10 Juno Awards from 2001 to 2007. The international pop star also won a Grammy in 2002 for “I’m Like a Bird,” which was voted best female pop vocal performance.

In addition to hosting, Furtado is set to perform on the show, as are fellow past Juno Award winners Charlotte Cardin, The Beaches and Maestro Fresh Wes.

The Montreal-born Cardin won four awards at last year’s show – artist of the year; album of the year and pop album of the year for Phoenix; and single of the year for “Meaningless.”

The Beaches won rock album of the year last year for Sisters Not Twins (The Professional Lovers Album). The Toronto rock band had won breakthrough group of the year in 2018.

Hip-hop pioneer Maestro Fresh Wes is the 2024 Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee. The rapper (real name Wes Williams) made history as the first Black Canadian artist to achieve gold and platinum status in the country. In 1991, he became the first Juno winner for best rap recording of the year for “Symphony in Effect.” He also won best video that year in tandem with Joel Goldberg for “Drop the Needle.”

Tegan and Sara will receive the 2024 Humanitarian Award for their charitable achievements. Academy Award-nominated actor (and Halifax native) Elliot Page (Juno), will present the honor live on the Juno Awards broadcast.

Tegan and Sara are outspoken advocates for LGBTQ+ equality and gender justice. The Tegan and Sara Foundation is an extension of their work, identity and longstanding commitment to building progressive social change.

Tegan and Sara won three Juno Awards in 2014 – single of the year for “Closer,” pop album of the year for Heartthrob and group of the year.

The 53rd Annual JUNO Awards will broadcast and stream live across Canada on March 24 at 8 p.m. ET/9 p.m. AST on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Radio One, CBC Music, CBC Listen and globally at and CBC Music’s YouTube page.

Furtado will become the fourth person to host multiple Juno broadcasts in this century, following Michael Bublé and actors Simu Lu and Russell Peters.