The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame introduced their nominees for the 2019 Rock Hall class. Among the record for the fifth time is a pioneer of common digital music, Kraftwerk. Starting in 1970, the band grew to become a pacesetter in progressive rock through the use of synthesizers, drum machines, vocoders, and self-made devices.

Their first three albums  Autobahn (1974), Trans-Europe Express (1977), and The Man-Machine (1978) have been characterised as “robotic pop.” They used digital parts with pop melodies, easy preparations, and repetitive rhythms. Wearing matching fits had them checking off the branding portion of being a preferred band.

These initiatives result in the affect of many genres of contemporary music, together with synthpop, ambient, hip hop, post-punk, techno, and membership music. The Observer as soon as editorialized, “no different band since The Beatles has given a lot to popular culture.”

Kraftwerk was awarded Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award in 2014, their Autobahn album made it to the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2015, they usually received the 2018 Grammy for Best Dance/Electronic Album for his or her Three-D The Catalogue dwell album.

First-time nominated acts embrace Def Leppard, Stevie Nicks, Devo, Roxy Music, John Prine and Todd Rundgren. Other nominations went to the returning Janet Jackson, LL Cool J, MC5, Radiohead, Rage Against the Machine, the Cure, Rufus & Chaka Kahn, Kraftwerk, and the Zombies. Previous nominees Kate Bush, Nine Inch Nails and Bad Brains have been taken off the record.

The remaining record of inductees will likely be confirmed in December 2019  and the induction ceremony will happen March 29 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. In the meantime, followers can vote on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame web site.

H/T: Billboard