Zeal & Ardor Return with New Single “to my ilk”: Stream

Zeal & Ardor have unveiled the new song “to my ilk,” the first single from the avant-metal band’s upcoming album, GREIF, set for release this summer.

Coming in at a brief two-and-a-half minutes, “to my ilk” is a mellow tune by Zeal & Ardor standards. The melodic track never gets into heavy territory, as singer-guitarist Manuel Gagneux delivers a reserved vocal performance throughout.

While no official announcement has been made regarding the new album, a listing on Apple Music offers a full tracklist and an August 23rd release date. Overall, the intentionally misspelled GREIF has 14 tracks, with “to my ilk” serving as the closing song.

Related Video

GREIF will mark Zeal & Ardor’s fourth album overall, and the follow-up to 2022’s self-titled effort. Since forming roughly a decade ago, the band has earned critical acclaim with its unique blend of extreme metal with traditional slave spirituals.


As of now, Zeal & Ardor have a run of European shows set for June, followed by more European dates in August, September, and October.

Take a listen to the song “to my ilk” below, and see the album artwork and tracklist. Stay tuned as more information regarding GREIF is announced.

[embedded content]

GREIF Artwork:

Zeal and Ardor Greif

” data-image-caption data-medium-file=”https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?quality=80&w=300″ data-large-file=”https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?quality=80&w=806″ onerror=”this.src=’https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/consequence-main-logo.jpg?quality=80′” decoding=”async” loading=”lazy” class=”aligncenter size-full wp-image-1375311″ src=”https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?quality=80&fit=1031%2C580&strip=” alt=”Zeal and Ardor Greif” width=”806″ height=”806″ srcset=”https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg 806w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?resize=150,150 150w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?resize=300,300 300w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?resize=768,768 768w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?resize=350,350 350w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?resize=356,356 356w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?resize=208,208 208w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?resize=79,79 79w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Zeal-and-Ardor-Greif.jpg?resize=96,96 96w” sizes=”(max-width: 806px) 100vw, 806px”>

GREIF Tracklist:
01. the Bird, the Lion and the Wildkin
02. Fend You Off
03. Kilonova
04. are you the only one now?
05. Go home my friend
06. Clawing out
07. Disease
08. 369
09. Thrill
10. une ville vide
11. Sugarcoat
12. Solace
13. Hide In Shade
14. to my ilk