Oliver Anthony Releases Debut Album Hymnal of a Troubled Man’s Mind: Stream

It’s been about half a year since Oliver Anthony released his unexpected hit single, “Rich Men North of Richmond”; now, the viral sensation is back with the release of his debut album, Hymnal of a Troubled Man’s Mind.

Featuring 10 “self-penned” songs from the Virginia native, Hymnal of a Troubled Man’s Mind was independently released on Sunday, March 31st. Filling out the tracklist are a number of his previously-released songs — like “I Want to Go Home,” “I’ve Got to Get Sober,” and “Doggonit” — as well as interludes of “spoken-word Gospel.” There will be one brand-new song, titled “Momma’s Been Hurting.”

Get Oliver Anthony Tickets Here

After a string of single releases — which Anthony points out were mostly rough drafts that he recorded on his Android “almost immediately after writing each song” — Hymnal of a Troubled Man’s Mind sees him collaborate with producer Dave Cobb, bringing the songs to life with acoustic, upright bass, and fiddle arrangements recorded in “a once-vibrant-but-now-decaying church in Savannah, Georgia,” as the press release explains.


Related Video

In a statement, Anthony (aka Chris Lunsford) said, “Hymnal of a Troubled Man’s Mind is the story of my life, from 2013 until 2023. It is intended for the listener to sit down in a quiet place, undistracted, and just listen beginning to end. Every lyric, every note — every everything — is intentionally placed.”

Anthony also expressed a hope that Hymnal of a Troubled Man’s Mind will help the rest of his catalog shine a light to the viral-sensation-fame of “Rich Men North of Richmond.” His press releases alleges he “declined numerous record label offers” in order to maintain “artistic integrity and autonomy.”

Speaking further, Anthony said, “This album represents the most pure and transparent view inside my heart and soul that I could offer. While ‘Richmond’ was the song that got my name out in the public, this release will be the true foundation that I build my monstrous catalog of new songs to come off of.”


Pre-orders for Hymnal of a Troubled Man’s Mind are ongoing. After its arrival, Anthony has teased that “fans can expect to start seeing releases soon, following this project.”

In the meantime, Anthony is still on the road with his 2024 tour. Check out his upcoming dates, and grab tickets for his shows here.

Hymnal of a Troubled Man’s Mind Artwork:

Oliver Anthony’s artwork for Hymnal

” data-image-caption data-medium-file=”https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg?quality=80&w=300″ data-large-file=”https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg?quality=80&w=710″ onerror=”this.src=’https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/consequence-main-logo.jpg?quality=80′” decoding=”async” loading=”lazy” class=”alignnone size-full wp-image-1369375″ src=”https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg?quality=80&fit=1031%2C580&strip=” alt=”Oliver Anthony’s artwork for Hymnal” width=”710″ height=”713″ srcset=”https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg 710w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg?resize=150,151 150w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg?resize=300,300 300w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg?resize=350,350 350w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg?resize=208,208 208w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg?resize=79,79 79w, https://consequence.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/Oliver-Anthony-Hymnal.jpeg?resize=96,96 96w” sizes=”(max-width: 710px) 100vw, 710px”>

Hymnal of a Troubled Man’s Mind Tracklist:
01. Rich Man’s Gold
02. Doggonit
03. I’ve Got to Get Sober
04. Cobwebs and Cocaine
05. Hell on Earth
06. I Want to Go Home
07. Feeling Purdy Good
08. Always Love You Like a Good Old Dog
09. VCR Kid
10. Momma’s Been Hurting