IAN SWEET – “Your Spit”

IAN SWEET have announced a new album, SUCKER, the follow-up to 2021’s Show Me How You Disappear. Project mastermind Jilian Medford is introducing the album with “Your Spit,” a hooky and blown-out rock song with the chorus: “Kiss me like you mean it/ Kiss me like you’re leavin/ Your spit tastes different/ Kiss me like you mean it/ Make me believe it.”

“‘Your Spit’ is about the joy and fear that surrounds new relationships,” Medford said. “The excitement that’s also accompanied by doubt. But I’d be lying if I didn’t say the song is just mostly about making out.”

It was produced by Alex Craig and Strange Ranger’s Isaac Eiger, and it comes with a music video directed by Brittany Reeber that includes cameos from Saturday Night Live‘s Sarah Sherman and Martin Herlihy. Watch and listen below.

01 “Bloody Knees”
02 “Smoking Again”
03 “Emergency Contact”
04 “Sucker”
05 “Comeback”
06 “Your Spit”
07 “Clean”
08 “FIGHT”
09 “Slowdance”
10 “Hard”

08/11 Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre #
08/12 Denver, CO @ Paramount Theatre #
08/17 Los Angeles, CA @ Skirball Cultural Center
08/22 Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere – Rooftop $
11/09 London, UK @ Pitchfork Music Festival London
# w/ Please Don’t Destroy
$ co-headline w/ Why Bonnie

SUCKER is out 11/3 via Polyvinyl. Pre-order it here.