Bad Brains’ Iconic I Against I Album Gets Remastered Reissue

Bad Brains’ legendary third album, 1986’s I Against I, is getting reissued on vinyl, CD, cassette, and digital formats on July 26th via Org Music.

The landmark album combines elements of hardcore, funk, metal, punk, and reggae, and has been cited by many artists as a major influence. The title track has been covered by acts ranging from late singer-songwriter Jeff Buckley to extreme-metal veterans Lamb of God, while “House of Suffering” was famously covered by Sublime.

I Against I is the latest in a series of Bad Brains releases to get reissued. The audio has been remastered by Dave Gardner, chief mastering engineer at Infrasonic Los Angeles.

In addition to the standard reissue, a “Punk Note” edition of the vinyl is available with alternate package artwork from designer John Yates. There are also exclusive variants available via Zia Records, Newbury Comics, and other outlets.

Related Video

I Against I is included on Consequence’s list of the 50 Albums That Shaped Punk Rock, alongside other iconic LPs by artists such as The Clash, Ramones, Sex Pistols, Minor Threat, and more.

In other news, Foo Fighters’ Dave Grohl and Anthrax members Scott Ian and Charlie Benante recently released a cover of Bad Brains’ “The Regulator” under the moniker GBI. Proceeds from the single will benefit legendary Bad Brains frontman H.R., who is suffering from SUNCT Syndrome, which causes cycles of intense headaches that make it impossible for him to perform.


I Against I Artwork:

Bad Brains I Against I

” data-image-caption data-medium-file=”″ data-large-file=”″ onerror=”this.src=’′” decoding=”async” loading=”lazy” class=”aligncenter size-full wp-image-1379111″ src=”” alt=”Bad Brains I Against I” width=”806″ height=”806″ srcset=” 806w,,150 150w,,300 300w,,768 768w,,350 350w,,356 356w,,208 208w,,79 79w,,96 96w” sizes=”(max-width: 806px) 100vw, 806px”>

I Against I Tracklist:
01. Intro
02. I Against I
03. House of Suffering
04. Re-Ignition
05. Secret 77
06. Let Me Help
07. She’s Calling You
08. Sacred Love
09. Hired Gun
10. Return to Heaven