Oliver Coates unveils new album, skins n slime, for RVNG Intl.

Oliver Coates has a new LP on the way for RVNG Intl.

skins n slime follows Coates’ 2018 Shelley’s On Zenn-la LP for the New York label, and sees the London cellist, composer and producer dropping the kick drum in favour of layered textures created by looped and distorted strings.

The label explains that the record shows a darker side of Coates, manipulating the cello’s sound into a kind of “slime” across the album’s live performances. Past collaborator Malibu returns to contribute spoken-word vocals on the closing track, “Soaring X.”

skins n slime will be released on both vinyl and digital formats, with a portion of sales going towards Down’s Syndrome Scotland.

Watch the video for “Butoh Baby.”

01. Caregiver Part 1 (Breathing)

02. Caregiver Part 2 (4am)

03. Caregiver Part 3 (Slorki)

04. Caregiver Part 4 (Spirit)

05. Caregiver Part 5 (Money)

06. Philomela Mutation

07. Butoh Baby

08. Reunification 2018

09. Still Life

10. Honey

11. Soaring X feat. Malibu

RVNG Intl. will release skins n slime on October 16th, 2020.