Nyege Nyege Tapes announces retrospective of gqom group Phelimuncasi

Nyege Nyege Tapes will release a retrospective album of gqom pioneers Phelimuncasi on September 27th.

The trio, which comprises vocalists Malathon and twins Makan Nana and Khera, formed in Durban, South Africa, in 2012 and began working with producers DJ MP3 and DJ Scoturn, two early innovators of the gqom genre. The label describes their sound as combining conversational-style vocals with obscure, brooding beats, saying that the music is inspired by a “storytelling tradition that harks back to Southern African toyi-toyi: a powerful dance of protest and struggle accompanied by rhythmic singing that was used during anti-apartheid demonstration to intimidate police and security forces.”

The nine-track Phelimuncasi: 2013—2019 catalogues music from across their career, from early tracks with DJ MP3 and DJ Scoturn to a set of four new cuts recorded with local producer Menzi during a joint residency at Nyege Studios in 2019.

Watch the video for “Private Party,” and check out the LP on Bandcamp.

01. Ngavele Ngagaxela prod. DJ Scoturn

02. Umahlalela prod. DJ Scoturn

03. Private Party prod. Menzi

04. South Beach eWHEE feat. 004 Da Artist, prod. DJ Scoturn

05. I Roof prod. Menzi

06. Sesi Gora prod. DJ MP3

07. GQOM Venus Cemetrary prod. Menzi

08. Umgido prod. Menzi

09. Ungabom Themba Umunutu prod. DJ Scoturn

Nyege Nyege Tapes will release Phelimuncasi: 2013—2019 on September 27th, 2020.