Moodymann announces new album, Taken Away

Moodymann‘s latest album, Taken Away, will be released on May 21st.

The Detroit artist is releasing the eight-track LP on his own KDJ label. The first single, “Do Wrong,” is out today as part of this month’s Bandcamp Friday, which sees the online retailer donating all its usual fees to artists. (Check out our buyer’s guide for some of the day’s key releases.)

Last year Moodymann released a double-pack, Sinner, which had originally gone on sale at a barbecue he hosted in Detroit during the 2019 Movement weekend. His previous album, which surfaced in 2018, never saw a wide release.

Read Matt McDermott’s rare interview with Moodymann, in which he discusses Detroit’s rich rollerskating culture.

Listen to “Do Wrong.”

Watch our film about Moodymann.

01. Do Wrong

02. Taken Away

03. Let Me In
04. Just Stay A While

05. Goodbye Everybody

06. Slow Down

07. I’m Already Hi
08. Taken Away (Moodymann Mix)

KDJ will release Taken Away on May 21st, 2020.