John Frusciante announces new breakbeat hardcore and jungle-inspired album, Maya

Los Angeles musican John Frusciante has a new record called Maya on the way via Timesig.

While much of the Red Hot Chili Peppers member’s electronic material has come out under the alias Trickfinger, Maya will be his first full-length under his own name since 2014’s Enclosure. The album is dedicated to his cat, who recently passed away.

“Maya was with me as I made music for 15 years, so I wanted to name it after her,” he said. “She loved music, and with such a personal title, it didn’t seem right to call myself Trickfinger, somehow, so it’s by John Frusciante.”

Stylistically, the full-length looks back to early-to-mid ’90s jungle and breakbeat hardcore. Before making Maya, he’d spend weeks making breakbeats and DX7 patches, slowly preparing building blocks to eventually finish tracks quickly. It’s his first album under his own name without vocals. “I don’t have that interest in singing or writing lyrics like I used to. The natural thing when I’m by myself now, is to just make music like the stuff being released this year,” Frusciante said. “I really love the back and forth with machines and the computer.”

Frusciante put out a Trickfinger album, She Smiles Because She Presses The Button, on Avenue 66 earlier this year as well as an EP on Evar Records, his new label with Aura T-09.

Listen to Maya track “Amethblowl.”

01. Brand E

02. Usbrup Pensul

03. Flying

04. Pleasure Explanation

05. Blind Aim

06. Reach Out

07. Amethblowl
08. Zillion

09. Anja Motherless

Timesig will release Maya on October 23rd, 2020.