Hot Chip steps in for the latest instalment in the LateNightTales mix series

Hot Chip will release a LateNightTales mix on October 2nd.

The long-running band led by Alexis Taylor and Joe Goddard released an album, A Bath Full Of Ecstasy, last year, but beyond Hot Chip, its members keep themselves busy with DJing and a number of side projects. That makes them a natural fit for LateNiteTales, and their selections are all over the shop, including modern experimentalists like Christina Vantzou and Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, along with the likes of Fever Ray, Rhythm & Sound, Planningtorock and Suzanne Kraft.

Per LateNiteTales tradition, Hot Chip’s mix includes exclusive tracks—a new tune called “Nothing’s Changed” and a cover of the Velvet Underground classic “Candy Says”—and ends with a reading of an excerpt of James Joyce’s Finnegan’s Wake by Taylor’s father Neil. The 19-cut mix also includes a cut from Taylor’s other project, About Group. The band’s entry in the series follows the RA-recommended LateNightTales from Floating Points.

Hot Chip’s LateNiteTales will come out digitally, on CD, double-vinyl and limited white vinyl. The band will stream a one-off concert with full-scale festival production this Saturday, September 5th. For more info and tickets check out the event listing below.

Listen to Hot Chip’s version of “Candy Says.”

01. Christina Vantzou – At Dawn

02. Hot Chip – Nothing’s Changed”

03. Rhythm & Sound – King in My Empire feat. Cornell Campbell

04. Pale Blue – Have You Passed Through This Night

05. Suzanne Kraft – Femme Cosmic

06. Fever Ray – To the Moon And Back

07. PlanningToRock – Much to Touch

08. Charlotte Adigery – 1,618

09. Mike Salta – Hey Moloko

10. Matthew Bourne – Somewhere I Have Never Travelled

11. Hot Chip – Candy Says (Velvet Underground Cover)

12. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Who I Am & Why I Am Where

13. About Group – The Long Miles

14. Beatrice Dillon – Workaround Two

15. Hot Chip – Worlds Within Worlds

16. Daniel Blumberg – The Bomb

17. Nils Frahm – Ode

18. Hot Chip – None Of These Things

19. Neil Taylor: Finnegans Wake (Excerpt)

Late Night Tales will release LateNightTales on October 2nd, 2020

Photo credit: Ronald Dick