HHY & The Kampala Unit combine dub, techno & traditional drumming on new LP for Nyege Nyege Tapes

HHY & The Kampala Unit will release their new album, Lithium Blast, on Nyege Nyege Tapes in October.

The album came together when the Porto musician Jonathan Saldanha—whose project HHY & The Macumbas has released through Nyege Nyege—completed a residency with the Kampala-based collective. On the 11-track record, Saldanha was joined by trumpet player and activist Florence Lugemwa as well as Omutaba on hybrid drums. The Kampala Prison Brass Band also makes an appearance.

The end result blends cinematic soundscapes with techno-related drum programming and the hectic rhythmic innovation Nyege Nyege has fostered. Check out our feature on the Nyege Nyege collective.

Watch the video for the title track, “Lithium Blast.”

01. Bursting Thru The Gates

02. Hunter

03. Mesh Intensifier

04. Queendom

05. Curse Go Back

06. Fission Core Fluid

07. Catastrophism

08. Science Of Dust

09. Gun

10. Lithium Blast

11. Shining Scar

Nyege Nyege Tapes will release Lithium Blast on October 22nd, 2020.